Monday, January 09, 2006

Bad Blogger

Wow! I've been a bad blogger!

Sorry it's been so long since I've posted an update.

Jaz is doing well these days. She had a pretty good Christmas too. She got a gift certificate to PetsMart, some non-chocolate brownies, a frisbee, some Scooby-snacks, and a few Booda-bones. She loved them all. Oh, except when she found out that her gift certificate to PetsMart is going to have to be used to get a bath... she wasn't too happy about that.


I wish I had some pictures of Jaz opening her gifts, but the camera needed batteries. Anyway, since I don't have a picture of her opening her gifts, I'll just post the picture I do have. It's of Jaz's Christmas Tree. Cute, isn't it?

Let's see... what's new? Nothing really. We've survived another year and all is well right now.





Wednesday, November 02, 2005

Nylabones

I'm starting to get paranoid about Nylabones.

I think they're the greatest things ever. Jaz just loves them. But...I've read several not so great stories about them online the past few days. Someone on an ACD list I belong to said that their dog just had to have $300 worth of dental work done. The vet said that the damage was from all the Nylabone chewing the dog does. Uhoh! That sucks.

I don't know what to do. You hear horror stories about every kind of dog chew or dog toy. How do you know which ones apply to your dog? It's such a tough call. And, like I said, Jaz loves her Nylabone.

Monday, October 31, 2005

Happy Howl-o-ween!

This is Jaz's costume from 2 years ago. She was a Cowgirl-Cowdog (and her bandana said so!).

We went to the costume contest at Petsmart. She didn't win. I think we were robbed!

She had chaps on for doG's sake! And a lasso and a trick-or-treat bucket.

Also robbed were the Doberman and Llasa Apso who came as Sonny and Cher. Can you guess which was which? It was hysterical.

One of the winners is standing behind Jaz in the first picture. Her name was Molly and she was 14 years old. She was old and adorable and that was the only reason we did not hold a grudge against her and her inferior costume.

Here's a smaller other-side view. She just looked so cute!




Saturday, October 29, 2005

70 Degrees & Clear

It's SUCH a beautiful day today.

Jaz decided to take a rest on the bench after a long afternoon of Jump-way-up-in-the-air-to-catch-my-favorite-ball, as she likes to call it.

Friday, October 28, 2005

2am is not breakfast time!

Australian Cattle Dogs are not easy dogs to raise. And, doG knows I've made MORE than my share of mistakes in Jaz's 3 years, but seriously... 2am is not the time we eat breakfast, Jaz!

I'm not sure what's going on, but for the past few weeks Jaz has been waking up at around 2am and then again at around 3am. If I let her out at 2, she still wakes up again in an hour.

How do I know she's waking up, you might ask?

Well, if you have one of those shrieking ACDs I'm sure you can answer that question on your own. (And not to get off topic, but WTF is up with that high pitched voice? Don't they realize how sissy they sound when they do that?)

Anyway, topic... She shouldn't be THAT hungry, right? Why is it just in the past few weeks? Is it because time is about to change? It shouldn't be that. Good God...I just realized that after Sunday, if she keeps up with this schedule, she'll be waking up at 1am! ONE A.M.

The thing is, if Keith tells her to quiet down, she does. She calmly lays back down, grunts a few times (her disapproving noises are hilarious!) and then goes back to sleep until our real alarm goes off. If I tell her to be quiet, she might stay that way for 2 minutes. She knows that I'll eventually get up and feed her. She's got me wrapped around her little dew-claw.

Don't worry too much. If I DO get up and feed her, I make sure I'm awake enough to only give up half the amount she'd normally get in the morning. (Ok, except that one time last weekend) Then she gets the other half at the usual time - 5:30am.


See? That's the other thing. In my mind a 5:30 feeding is exactly perfect for her. She gets fed every 12 hours. I guess she feels differently. If it was up to her, she'd be eating every half hour though.

Do I need to compromise somehow? Or should I just live with the 2 o'clock shriekings?

It's starting to wear on my already fragile sanity.