2am is not breakfast time!
Australian Cattle Dogs are not easy dogs to raise. And, doG knows I've made MORE than my share of mistakes in Jaz's 3 years, but seriously... 2am is not the time we eat breakfast, Jaz!
I'm not sure what's going on, but for the past few weeks Jaz has been waking up at around 2am and then again at around 3am. If I let her out at 2, she still wakes up again in an hour.
How do I know she's waking up, you might ask?
Well, if you have one of those shrieking ACDs I'm sure you can answer that question on your own. (And not to get off topic, but WTF is up with that high pitched voice? Don't they realize how sissy they sound when they do that?)
Anyway, topic... She shouldn't be THAT hungry, right? Why is it just in the past few weeks? Is it because time is about to change? It shouldn't be that. Good God...I just realized that after Sunday, if she keeps up with this schedule, she'll be waking up at 1am! ONE A.M.
The thing is, if Keith tells her to quiet down, she does. She calmly lays back down, grunts a few times (her disapproving noises are hilarious!) and then goes back to sleep until our real alarm goes off. If I tell her to be quiet, she might stay that way for 2 minutes. She knows that I'll eventually get up and feed her. She's got me wrapped around her little dew-claw.
Don't worry too much. If I DO get up and feed her, I make sure I'm awake enough to only give up half the amount she'd normally get in the morning. (Ok, except that one time last weekend) Then she gets the other half at the usual time - 5:30am.
See? That's the other thing. In my mind a 5:30 feeding is exactly perfect for her. She gets fed every 12 hours. I guess she feels differently. If it was up to her, she'd be eating every half hour though.
Do I need to compromise somehow? Or should I just live with the 2 o'clock shriekings?
It's starting to wear on my already fragile sanity.


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home